Department of European Funds

Batorego 5 Str., 02-591 Warsaw Poland


+48 22 601 42 48 +48  22 601 41 74




Phare programme

Phare programme

The Phare programme (Poland and Hungary: Action for the Restructuring of the Economy) was launched in 1989. Initially, it was co–ordinated by the European Commission, and was aimed at only two countries, Poland and Hungary. Over the years, it covered also Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. It had been established to offer non-returnable financial aid to candidate countries to the European Communities.

Implementing Authority for European Programmes was responsible for Phare programme (replaced in 2015 by Digital Poland Projects Centre – visit the webpage of the Digital Poland Projects Centre)